Snapchat is one of the world’s most loved mobile applications. One of the best features about Snapchat is that photos are only shared for up to 10 seconds before they expire permanently (no one can see them again afterwards, even if you only send your snap for 2 seconds!). This makes it safer for users who will not have their pictures used against them, which is unfortunately a very common occurrence in today’s social media world.
However, Snapchat allows users to take screenshots. The catch is that the other user will be notified that the screenshot was taken. This helps protect their privacy and lets them know who is keeping their photos permanently. Snapchat is definitely the first app to do something like this and it has protected a lot of users from embarrassment and blackmail. So, how to tell if someone screenshots your snapchat?
The app will let you know via a notification as well as on your homepage with the icon seen in the following picture: You know what it looks like when a friend has viewed your snap. It will be either a empty triangle turned on its side (such as the one seen in the photo above) or a similar shape as an arrow. If they have not viewed it, this shape will be colored in. However, if the person has taken a screenshot of your snap, then it will a sort of “burst” design that is unique from the other icons you are used to seeing.
There will also be ‘Screenshot! (1)‘ written underneath the person’s name in small letters. As you can see, it is very easy to tell whether or not someone has taken a screenshot of your snap. Depending on the type of phone you have, the symbol (triangle or arrow) might be different, but it will always have that burst design and it will always say ‘Screenshot! (1)‘ so that you are completely aware that someone is keeping your photo.
This is a great feature of Snapchat. Depending on which type of phone you have, you might also get a push notification that alerts you that someone has taken a screenshot of your snapchat. This is a great feature in case you haven’t seen the icon and do not look at your homepage that often, or have been snapchatting a lot of people which caused the person’s name to move out of your view.
Snapchat has made the app as safe as possible and alerts users when their photos are being kept for good. This means your privacy is protected and you get to have fun on the app while knowing that your photos are private and can only be seen by others for a short amount of time. However, it’s still important to be careful when sending photos because you never know what type of hacks and tricks are being developed in the ever-changing social media world. Having fun with your friends is important, but it is always important to be cautious and wary while using social media sites.